Monsters! 有怪兽! by Kevin Lustig From time to time, animals are born with mutations like extra limbs, strange deformities, or even additional heads. In ancient Rome, this frightful event was believed to be an omen that bad things were on the

发表于:2018-12-08 / 阅读(33) / 评论(0) 分类 常春藤解析英语

AA: I'm Avi Arditti with Rosanne Skirble, and this week on WORDMASTER: our guest is writer Michael Erard, author of a new book called Um... MICHAEL ERARD: People who have studied speech patterns notice that there are really two groups of people: one

发表于:2018-12-30 / 阅读(34) / 评论(0) 分类 词汇大师(Wordmaster)

by Michael W. Flynn Today, I will answer the most common question I have received since I began this podcast: why do I include the following annoying disclaimer at the beginning of every episode: Although I am an attorney, the legal information in th

发表于:2018-12-30 / 阅读(28) / 评论(0) 分类 法律英语 Legal Lad

Grammar Girl here. I know I promised that the next episode would be about apostrophes, but Zach wrote in with a grammar emergency tied to the execution of Saddam Hussein. I'm sure we all realize there are more important aspects to this story than rep

发表于:2019-01-02 / 阅读(56) / 评论(0) 分类 英语语法 Grammar Girl

Grammar Girl here. Todays topic is cement versus concrete. Guest writer Sal Glynn writes: Accuracy is important. You might think concrete and cement are interchangeable, but you'll quickly find that you're mistaken when some guy at Home Depot rolls h

发表于:2019-01-02 / 阅读(82) / 评论(0) 分类 英语语法 Grammar Girl

Grammar Girl here. Today's topic is dragged versus drug. I've been renovating a condo, and last week I posted a message on Twitter that started out with the sentence I drug myself over to the condo. I was sharing this bit of information to get to the

发表于:2019-01-02 / 阅读(47) / 评论(0) 分类 英语语法 Grammar Girl